Analytics

Credit marketRegionUzbekistanCurrency

Analytics · Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan · data as of 1 Sep 2026

Since 2022, bank loans across the three countries have grown 1.7–2.9-fold in dollar terms; the share of problem loans has risen only in KazakhstanSince 2022, bank loans across the three countries have grown 1.8–3.2-fold in national currencies; the share of problem loans has risen only in Kazakhstan

Volumegrowth, $growth, nat.Qualityshare of problem loansStructurehousehold shareConcentrationstate-owned banks
Uzbekistan×1.7×1.8$55.0bn648.9tn UZS3.7%↓ from 4.9%37.5%↑ from 24.5%65%↓ from 84%
Kazakhstan×2.1×2.0$92.0bn42.8tn KZT4.0%↑ from 3.6%61.8%→ from 62.1%–no data
Kyrgyzstan×2.9×3.2$7.1bn618 bn KGS11.5%*↓ from 12.8%–no data–no data

From September 2022 to the latest data: 1 Sep 2026, Kyrgyzstan – 1 Aug 2026. Problem loans are defined differently across countries, so levels are not compared between them.

Below: each factor across the three countries, then a detailed look at the problem loans of Uzbekistan's banks and microfinance organisations.

Region · four factors across three countries

Volume

Since September 2022, bank loans in Kyrgyzstan have grown nearly threefold in dollar terms, Kazakhstan – twofold, Uzbekistan – by 69%Since September 2022 in national currencies, bank loans in Kyrgyzstan have grown 3.2-fold, Kazakhstan – twofold, Uzbekistan – by 83%

Bank loan portfolios in dollars, index: first point = 100. Uzbekistan and Kyrgyzstan from September 2022, Kazakhstan from October 2022Bank loan portfolios in national currencies, index: first point = 100. Uzbekistan and Kyrgyzstan from September 2022, Kazakhstan from October 2022

  • Uzbekistan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • preliminary data
501001502002503002023202420252026Uzbekistanindex 169Kazakhstanindex 208Kyrgyzstanindex 293
501001502002503002023202420252026169208293
501001502002503003502023202420252026Uzbekistanindex 183Kazakhstanindex 203Kyrgyzstanindex 319
501001502002503003502023202420252026183203319
StartLatest dataGrowth
Uzbekistan$32.5bn355.5tn UZS$55.0bn648.9tn UZS 01.09.2026+69%+83%
Kazakhstan$44.3bn21.1tn KZT$92.0bn42.8tn KZT 01.09.2026+108%+103%
Kyrgyzstan$2.4bn194 bn KGS$7.1bn618 bn KGS 01.08.2026*+193%+219%

Portfolios are defined differently. Uzbekistan: bank loans from the central bank's NPL table. Kazakhstan: loans to the economy of second-tier banks. Kyrgyzstan: commercial bank loans under the NBKR classification. The growth rate is therefore what is compared. Dollar amounts are an indicative conversion at exchange rates on each snapshot date; tenge and som are converted to dollars via the official rates of the Central Bank of Uzbekistan. An asterisk marks preliminary NBKR data.

Sources: Central Bank of Uzbekistan; ARDFM, monthly banking sector releases; NBKR, banking statistics bulletin, table IV.3.5.

Quality

Over four years, the share of problem loans has risen only in Kazakhstan – from 3.6% to 4.0%

Share of problem loans under national definitions, %; each country has its own scale, levels are not compared between countries

Uzbekistan

NPL per the central bank’s definition

2%4%6%20232024202520263.7%
2%4%6%20232024202520263.7%

4.9% → 3.7%

Kazakhstan

NPL90+ per ARDFM: overdue more than 90 days

2%3.5%5%20232024202520264.0%
2%3.5%5%20232024202520264.0%

3.6% → 4.0%

Kyrgyzstan

Loans classified by the NBKR as substandard, doubtful or loss

8%11%14%202320242025202611.5%
8%11%14%202320242025202611.5%

12.8% → 11.5%*

Indicator definitions by country
Indicator definitions by countryUzbekistanKazakhstanKyrgyzstan
What counts as a problem loanNPL per the central bank’s definitionNPL90+: overdue more than 90 daysThe three worst categories of the NBKR classification
RegulatorCentral Bank of UzbekistanARDFMNBKR
Source currencysumtengesom
Can share levels be comparedno Definitions differ; only the direction and pace of change are compared between countries.

* Kyrgyzstan – data as of 1 Aug 2026; the NBKR reports the last three months as preliminary. For Kazakhstan, separate monthly ARDFM releases have been collected; where an adjacent month is missing, points are not joined by a line.

Sources: Central Bank of Uzbekistan; ARDFM; NBKR, banking statistics bulletin, table IV.3.5.

Structure

The share of household loans in Uzbekistan rose from 24.5% to 37.5%, while in Kazakhstan it is about 61.8%

Household share in bank loans. Light circle: September 2022 (October for Kazakhstan), dark: latest data

0%25%50%75%100%Uzbekistan24.5%37.5%Kazakhstan62.1% → 61.8%Kyrgyzstanno data
0%25%50%75%100%Uzbekistan24.5%37.5%Kazakhstan62.1% → 61.8%Kyrgyzstanno data

Uzbekistan – loans to individuals in the banking system portfolio per the central bank's loan-type table; Kazakhstan – household loans within loans to the economy per ARDFM releases. The structure of all loans is shown, regardless of their quality.

Sources: Central Bank of Uzbekistan, loan portfolio balances by loan type; ARDFM.

Concentration

State-owned banks account for 65% of Uzbekistan's loans and 69% of its problem loans; in 2022 — 84% and 86%

Uzbekistan: share of state-owned banks in the loan portfolio and in banks' NPL, %

  • in banks' NPL
  • in the loan portfolio
50%75%100%2023202420252026in portfolio 65%in NPL 69%
50%75%100%202320242025202665%69%

The group's composition is set by the central bank and changes, including when state stakes are sold. For Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan, bank-level data are not yet in the dataset.

Source: Central Bank of the Republic of Uzbekistan, commercial bank NPL table, “Banks with state share” line.

Uzbekistan in detail

Problem loans of Uzbekistan's banks and microfinance organisations

How dollars are calculated

Dollar amounts are an indicative conversion by Avenex at the central bank's official rate on each snapshot date (as of 1 Sep 2026 – 11,801.23 sum per dollar); the central bank quotes them in sums. Changes over the period include an exchange-rate effect: over four years the dollar rate rose 8%, over the last year it fell 5%. In dollars, a change may differ from the change in sums in magnitude and even in direction.

01 – Four years · interactive chart

Total bank NPL grew 27% over four years, the loan portfolio – 69%Total bank NPL grew 37% over four years, the loan portfolio – 83%

Uzbekistan’s banks: NPL and portfolio growth, 01.09.2022 = 100, in dollars at the central bank rate on the snapshot dateUzbekistan’s banks: NPL and portfolio growth, 01.09.2022 = 100, in sums

no central bank snapshotno central bank snapshotno central bank snapshotno central bank snapshotno central bank snapshotno central bank snapshotno central bank snapshot751001251501752023202420252026NPL127Portfolio169
no central bank snapshotno central bank snapshotno central bank snapshotno central bank snapshot751001251501752023202420252026NPL 127Portfolio 169

Grey bars – months with no central bank file in the archive; lines are not extended across them. In “Growth” mode, the first available date of the period counts as 100. On the log scale, zero values are not shown.

Dollar amounts are an indicative conversion at the central bank's rate on each snapshot date; in dollars a change may differ from the change in sums in magnitude and in direction.

Source: Central Bank of the Republic of Uzbekistan, “Information on non-performing loans of commercial banks”, monthly data 1 Sep 2022 – 1 Sep 2026; historical – from the public web archive.

02 – Year over year

The NPL share has barely changed over the year (3.75% → 3.70%), though in January it dipped to 2.99%

Uzbekistan's banks: NPL share in the loan portfolio, %, September 2022 – September 2026; independent of currency

no central bank snapshotno central bank snapshotno central bank snapshotno central bank snapshotno central bank snapshotno central bank snapshotno central bank snapshot2.5%3.5%4.5%5.5%2023202420252026Jan: 3.53%Jan: 3.97%Jan: 2.99%Sep 25: 3.75%3.70%
no central bank snapshotno central bank snapshotno central bank snapshotno central bank snapshot2.5%3.5%4.5%5.5%2023202420252026Jan: 3.53%Jan: 3.97%Jan: 2.99%3.70%

In January 2024, 2025 and 2026 the share dipped and then rose again in the following months; there is no January 2023 snapshot in the archive. The central bank does not disclose the reason; an annual balance-sheet cleanup is our hypothesis. From April to September the share fell in 2024 and 2025, and in 2026 it rose by 0.5 pp; short windows in different years give different signs, so we compare year over year.

Source: Central Bank of the Republic of Uzbekistan, “Information on non-performing loans of commercial banks”, monthly data 1 Sep 2022 – 1 Sep 2026; historical – from the public web archive.

03 – Bank contributions · interactive chart

The six banks with the largest increases in NPL amounts added $326m of NPL over the year – more than the entire system ($289m)Change in bank NPL, 01.09.2025 → 01.09.2026

Change in bank NPL from 01.09.2025 → 01.09.2026, USD (equiv.)Change in bank NPL from 01.09.2025 → 01.09.2026, sum

  • NPL growth
  • NPL decline
  • other banks, net
Микрокредит банк+$76mАнор банк+$64mАгробанк+$65mТибиси банк+$43mАлока банк+$38mНародный банк+$40mОстальные 23 банков+$132mАсака банк−$9mКапитал банк−$39mУзпромстройбанк−$39mИпотека банк−$81mWhole system+$289m
Микрокредит банк+$76mАнор банк+$64mАгробанк+$65mТибиси банк+$43mАлока банк+$38mНародный банк+$40mОстальные 23 банков+$132mАсака банк−$9mКапитал банк−$39mУзпромстройбанк−$39mИпотека банк−$81mWhole system+$289m

Dollar amounts are an indicative conversion at the central bank's rate on each snapshot date; in dollars a change may differ from the change in sums in magnitude and in direction.

The reasons for NPL declines (collection, write-off, sale, restructuring) are not disclosed in the central bank's data. A change in the NPL amount describes a bank's portfolio and does not assess the bank itself.

Source: Central Bank of the Republic of Uzbekistan, commercial bank NPL table for the selected dates.

04 – Share and volume · interactive chart

The largest NPL amounts are at the two biggest banks, with a share of 3.1–3.4%; a share above 8% occurs only at banks with loan portfolios below $2bnThe largest NPL amounts are at the two biggest banks, with a share of 3.1–3.4%; a share above 8% occurs only at banks with loan portfolios below 24tn UZS

Uzbekistan’s banks on 01.09.2026: loan portfolio (log scale, USD equivalent) and NPL share; circle area is the NPL amountUzbekistan’s banks on 01.09.2026: loan portfolio (log scale, sums) and NPL share; circle area is the NPL amount

Click a circle to highlight a bank or clear the selection; the ▶ button plays the history.

  • labelled banks: NPL share above 8% and the two largest NPL amounts
  • other banks
0%5%10%15%1m10m100m1bn10bnloan portfolio, USD equiv. (log scale) →system average 3.70%
0%5%10%15%1m10m100m1bn10bnloan portfolio, USD equiv. (log scale) →system average 3.70%1234567
  1. Агробанк 3.4% · $272m NPL
  2. Узнацбанк 3.1% · $269m NPL
  3. Микрокредит банк 9.2% · $181m NPL
  4. Анор банк 8.8% · $94m NPL
  5. Тибиси банк 13.4% · $87m NPL
  6. Пойтахт банк 13.2% · $8m NPL
  7. Мадад инвест банк 10.0% · $5m NPL

Zero in the source is shown on the zero line; it may mean either no NPL or an undisclosed value.

Source: Central Bank of the Republic of Uzbekistan, commercial bank NPL table on the snapshot date; latest data – as of 1 Sep 2026.

05 – Microfinance organisations

MFOs with an NPL share above 5% account for 7% of the sector's portfolio and 32% of its problem loans

Uzbekistan's MFOs as of 1 Sep 2026, groups by NPL share: share in the sector's portfolio ($1.58bn) and in its NPL ($39m)Uzbekistan's MFOs as of 1 Sep 2026, groups by NPL share: share in the sector's portfolio (18.6tn UZS) and in its NPL (456bn UZS)

  • share in the sector's portfolio
  • share in the sector's NPL
up to 2%29 MFOs66%37%2–5%25 MFOs21%32%5–10%23 MFOs5%15%above 10%29 MFOs2%17%undisclosed35 MFOs6%NPL amount undisclosed
up to 2%29 MFOs66%37%2–5%25 MFOs21%32%5–10%23 MFOs5%15%above 10%29 MFOs2%17%undisclosed35 MFOs6%NPL amount undisclosed

Of 141 MFOs, 35 did not disclose their NPL amount: 24 report zero in the source with a non-zero portfolio, and 11 have neither a portfolio nor NPL. The portfolio of the former is shown as a separate row.

Source: Central Bank of the Republic of Uzbekistan, “Share of problem loans of microfinance organisations” as of 1 Sep 2026. Bank and MFO figures are not summed.

Avenex hypotheses · to be tested on a lender's data

What this may mean for collections

  • The collections workload is set by the amount. Over four years the share fell by 1.2 pp while the amount grew 27%.Over four years the share fell by 1.2 pp while the amount grew 37%.
  • The January dip. If this is an annual write-off, then early in the year more written-off debts go to off-balance-sheet collections or sale. This can only be verified with a lender's data on the movement of overdue debt.
  • Kazakhstan. Since April 2024, the NPL90+ amount has grown from 0.9 to 1.9 trillion tenge, while loans to the economy grew 49%. If this continues, the flow of collection cases will grow faster than the portfolio.
  • A $169m reduction in NPL at four Uzbek banks.A 2.4tn UZS reduction in NPL at four Uzbek banks. Open data do not show how much was collected, written off or sold, and that determines the assessment of the debt-sale market.

Sources

Where the data comes from

  • cbu.uzCentral Bank of the Republic of Uzbekistanproblem loans of banks and MFOs, loan portfolio, official exchange rates
  • nbkr.kgNational Bank of the Kyrgyz Republicclassification of banking sector loans
  • gov.kz/memleket/entities/ardfmAgency of the Republic of Kazakhstan for Regulation and Development of the Financial Marketstate of the banking sector: loans, NPL90+
  • web.archive.orgInternet Archivehistorical copies of Central Bank of Uzbekistan publications
AI analyticsHow this material was prepared and how to use it